The Curriculum

The curriculum model arranges the six academic areas around the core requirements. Central to its philosophy is the IB Learner Profile, which is communicated through approaches to teaching and learning.

IB Diploma Programme students study six courses (three at higher level, three at standard level). Students must choose one subject from each of groups 1 to 5, thus ensuring breadth of experience in languages, humanities, science and mathematics. The sixth subject may be an arts subject chosen from group 6, or the student may choose an additional subject from groups 1 to 5.

The programme has three core requirements that are included to broaden the educational experience and challenge students to apply their knowledge and understanding:

The extended essay is a requirement for students to engage in independent research through an in-depth study of a question relating to one of the subjects they are studying.

Theory of knowledge is a course designed to encourage each student to reflect on the nature of knowledge by critically examining different ways of knowing, and applying it to their own learning. This course helps students to further develop their skills of critical thinking and problem solving. 

Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) is experiential learning, where students learn actively by participating in real tasks beyond the classroom. The philosophy behind the CAS program is for students to learn more about themselves and our world by engaging in service to others.

Over the course of the two-year programme, students:

study six subjects chosen from the six subject groups – three at standard level (SL) and three at higher level (HL)

Language and literature
- Language A: literature SL & HL
- Language A: language and literature SL & HL

Language acquisition
- Language B SL/HL
- Language ab initio SL

Individuals and societies
- Business management SL/HL
- Economics SL/HL
- History SL/HL
- Digital society SL/HL
- Psychology SL & HL

- Biology from SL/HL
- Chemistry SL/HL
- Physics SL/HL

- Mathematics: analysis and approaches SL & HL
- Mathematics: applications and interpretation SL & HL

- Visual arts SL/HL

  • complete an extended essay (EE)
  • follow a Theory of Knowledge course (ToK)
  • participate in creativity, activity, service (CAS).

Further information is also available on the IBO website: IB Diploma Programme curriculum. For more information about the IB Diploma Programme at GISS, please refer to the IBDP Subject Selection Brochure and watch the video below.

Watch the presentation below to learn about the ATAR and subject selection.